Board Bio - Anne Alexandrov

Dr. Anne Alexandrov is Professor and Program Director for NET SMART at the Health Outcomes Institute, LLC in Fountain Hills, Arizona, a Professor of Nursing at the University of Tennessee Health Science Center-Memphis, and a Professor of Nursing at Australian Catholic University, in Sydney, Australia.  Dr. Alexandrov received her Masters of Science in Nursing from the University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston in 1993 with a concentration in Emergency and Critical Care.  She received her PhD from Texas Woman’s University in 2002, which focuses on integrated systemic and intracranial hemodynamics.  Dr. Alexandrov was the FY-2000 National President of the American Association of Critical-Care Nurses (AACN).  She was the first nurse member of the U.S. Food and Drug Administrations’ Neurologic Device Approval Panel (1997-2000) and is currently serving a second term on this panel.  She was a member of the original National Quality Forum (NQF) Steering Committee on Safe U.S. Health Care Practices (1999-2003), and Co-Chaired the NQF’s Stroke Committee that selected the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid core measures for pay-for-performance and public reporting. She is also a 2-term past member of the Board of Commissioners of the American Association of Colleges of Nursing’s Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education.  Dr. Alexandrov developed the reviewer role for The Joint Commission’s (TJC) Stroke Center Certification Program and conducted the first 20 reviews of hospitals competing for this recognition. Most recently, she served on the Technical Advisory Panel for TJC’s Comprehensive Stroke Center Certification program, and currently she serves on the TJC Stroke Performance Measure Panel.  She is a founding member of the Association of Neurovascular Clinicians, and currently serves as Chair for Certification and Certification Examination Architect for the NVRN and ANVP board certifications.  She has authored numerous original scientific publications related to her work in the area of stroke reperfusion therapies, experimental blood flow augmentation strategies, and stroke center development and credentialing.  Dr. Alexandrov’s many honors include the 2013 American Association of Critical-Care Nurses’ Flame of Excellence Award for her work in acute stroke, induction as an Honorary Ambassador to the World Federation of Critical Care Nurses in 2012, the UAB Graduate School Dean’s Excellence in Mentorship Award in 2012, the Birmingham Metro Nurse of the Year Award in 2010, induction as a Fellow in the American Academy of Nursing in 2004, the ASA’s Distinguished Service Award in 2003, the American Heart Association’s Stroke Manuscript of the Year Award in 2003, the ASA Texas Affiliate’s Excellence in Volunteer Leadership Award in 2002, and the John P. McGovern Teaching Excellence Award from UTHSC-Houston in 1999.

Practice Site: Methodist University Hospital, Comprehensive Stroke Center, Memphis, Tennessee USA.

image widget